First Week of Living in California!

On August 22nd, I flew down to Los Angeles with my mom. I officially started my brand new adventure as a graduate student, living in a brand new, big city. We got the rental car and trekked our way to my apartment in Fullerton. I have to admit, it was nice to be back here… we went to the grocery store and went swimming then watched The Hunger Games on my computer.

The reason we watched it on my computer was that my tv went out that night… we put in the DVD and the screen was blurry and could hardly watch it… Of course, I was frustrated at first. Annoyed that it happened but VERY THANKFUL that it happened when my mom was here while we had a rental car… I could not imagine not having a tv after she left… HELLO FOOTBALL SEASON! NO way would I miss the Oregon or Seahawks games! 😉

On Saturday the 25th I had orientation at Cal State Fullerton (CSUF).. we walked to the Titan Student Union and saw the registration table… but we were in the wrong place. There was a couple of people that were also lost, the letter that we got and registered on, did not say on it where to meet. So the other new graduate students and I finally learned that it was in the QUAD (the grassy benches area right in the middle of campus). By the time we got there my feet hurt and I was already sweating (it was 9am and I was already hot!, Ugh California living lol!) so I registered and sat down until 10am when the welcome started and my mom went to go get some coffee.

Right around 10 my mom called me over and introduced me to this woman named Susan, Susan just happened to introduce herself to my mom and she said that she was just starting the Masters of Public Health program! The same one as me! Yay! So we exchanged phone numbers and hung out all day at orientation and then again on Monday in class. It is so nice to have met someone prior to class. At the end of the orientation it was lunch time where you sit at the table of your program.. there Susan and I met our Stats professor (and our program advisor!) as well as 3 more classmates. It was nice to meet people right off the bat.

Here is a picture of my second home the Kinesiology and Health Science building.. Image

It has a beautiful exterior but old looking interior, its a very confusing, hot building. But this will be the building that I spend most of my time, academically it is.

My next entry will be about my first week of school!

Hope you enjoy reading my blog! ❤

Leave a comment