Spring Post!

Hello family & friends!

Long time no post ☺ I haven’t posted since before I came home for Thanksgiving and Christmas! lol. So I figured now is a good time now that I have new things to talk about (stuff since I’ve been back here)!

I had a wonderful time at home, it was so nice seeing most of you (for those who I missed, hopefully when I come home during the summer we can see each other!). But, I have to admit, I was really anxious to get back down here by the time I did. I have a system down here and I was ready to get back into the groove of things, school and work wise.

So when I got back I went straight to work! Worked full-time for 2 weeks straight. HUGE CHANGE getting up at 6:30 every morning after sleeping in until 12pm or later over break lol. I finally got a feel for how the “real world” will be when I’m finally done with school. ☺

School is going, going and going! I can’t believe we are about to start our 5th week (out of 16!) this next week. Its starting to pick up on school work.

This semester I am doing a lot of different things (of course, right?!). I’m taking 9 units of classes; 3 units of Health Promotion & Disease Prevention; 3 units of Epidemiology (the study of distribution & detriments of health related events…layman’s terms- statistics of health issues in the US); and 3 units of Independent Study.

My independent study is the thing I talked about before. I get to teach a class here in the fall (Personal Health) so this semester I am shadowing a second-year MPH student who is teaching it for my independent study. So I attend her class twice a week and just sit there and take notes on how she teaches/interacts/etc. This last week I put together my first lecture!!! In a week and a half I get to teach her class! I’m teaching about psychoactive drugs. She will then give me feedback and towards the end of the semester, probably week 12 or so, I will teach yet another chapter in hopes of improving on what she suggested I do. Then at the end of the semester I have to put together a portfolio of the course that I plan to teach in the fall. ☺

Epidemiology is just epidemiology. Lol. I took EPI at Western so I have an idea of what it is. It’s just a lot of work (math problems…that surprisingly, are super simple for me…its just memorizing formulas is all), a lot of studying and reading.

Health Promotion & Disease Prevention is a class where we are learning all about THEORIES!! In Public Health a lot of (if not, most) people use a theory to plan, implement and evaluate health programs in the community that they are working with. There are hundreds of health theories but we’re going over 15 or 16. I enjoy this class a lot, but again, it’s A LOT OF READING!

I have more reading this semester than I did in an entire year at Western, just to give you guys an idea of the difference in workloads between Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees. lol.

Pretty crazy to think that I’m in my second semester of five already, not quite half way there but it has been flying by. Its kind of scary because I do not know exactly what I want to do with this degree when I am done but I hope that by the time I am done with it I will have an idea/job lined up lol. It is just flying by already! My friends and I were just talking about it this last week that we are already working on our final projects (which I will talk about in an entirely different post…coming TBA. lol) and soon enough we wont be taking any classes and will only be working on this project! So crazy!

Anyways, I think this is plenty long enough. Time to watch the Blazers lose to the Lakers. ☹

Love and Miss you all. Hugs and kisses. ☺

P.s. I promise, I will try to find sometime soon (!!!) to post about my final project…until then, I’ll leave you to ponder this:

“Do you think that high rates of partner violence leads to an increase in risky sexual behaviors in homeless youth?!”

Leave a comment